In North Carolina, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense, and rightfully so. Those who drive while impaired put their own lives and those around them at risk. Drivers charged with DUI can face a range of potential punishments, including jail time and steep fines. Also, those who are convicted of DUI will lose their driving privileges.
Loss of driver’s license
In this state, the driver’s license of someone charged with DUI will be suspended for 30 days, though there are options for temporary reinstatement after 11 days. There are also civil suspensions through the Department of Transportation for violations of implied consent laws. This is applicable when drivers refuse to submit to a chemical test for blood-alcohol concentration when police have probable cause to make the request.
Loss of vehicle
Not many people are aware that their vehicle can also be seized due to a DUI conviction. However, this typically involves repeat infractions. North Carolina has a DUI forfeiture law that applies when an impaired driver either has a license suspension from a previous DUI or has no license or insurance. Although not as common, courts can also order DUI offenders to forfeit their vehicles.
Obtaining legal assistance
Being arrested and charged with DUI can be a troubling and challenging experience. Fortunately, anyone who is charged with drunk driving in North Carolina has the right to seek legal representation to defend against these charges. An experienced criminal defense attorney can determine the best defense strategy and protect the rights of those accused.